Posted in Author's Opinions, BLOG

Two Words in Order to Win Your Job Interview

Then I answered, “My friend told me that this company processes applications so fast, that is why I am here.”

Untitled

It was the first time of my life to be invited in a job interview. A day before, I did research about the company profile, the job description, and some possible questions and answers in an interview.

I thought I was ready on that time, but all I have studied were blocked inside my nervous system because I felt so tensed when my name called to get inside of the office; it was my turned. I convinced myself to focus, but, as a first timer like me I was trapped on my own nervousness.

When I entered the room, the smile of two corporate women welcomes me, which made me calmed down a little bit.

As what I expected, I forgot some of what I researched, which were really asked by the interviewers. At that time, all I brought was my honesty on answering the questions; even it was a simple answer. By that, I gained more confident on answering.

This is my memorable winning piece question and answer during the interview;

“Why are you applying in this company?”

Then I answered;

“My friend told me that this company processes applications so fast, that is why I am here.”

The two women in front of me became freeze. Their face went slacked, mouth slightly opened and their eyes stocked on me and I am also looking at them with an eye to an eye.

After few seconds with those reactions, they suddenly moved and looked at each other and lines besides their lips revealed as if they were slightly smiling.

I am not sure what stuffs were running on their minds, yet, I didn’t care; what they heard were just honesty and that was only the best respond which I am going to say than thinking of the best answers that were based from what I read from my researched.

Since it was my first time for an interview, my four brothers were so excited to know if how it was. Of course, I shared to them what really happened; about the questions and answers and also the reactions of two corporate hiring personnel.

Suddenly, a loud laughed cracked the entire house!

Then our eldest brother said;

“I can’t believe you say that! You are so brave! And frank!”

“And innocent.” Our second brother added.

“Maybe it’s better that next time you may add some spices on your answer. But believed me sister, your answer was awesome!” eldest brother said.

After so much teases, advises and praises (or so whatever I should call that) which I received from my brothers, I realized how jerk I was.

“I let this first step of my opportunity to start my career passed.” This line played on my thought that night.

I then understand about the reactions of two hiring personnel. Maybe they also expected to get an answer that most of the applicants told to them.

Slowly, I felt embarrassment for my entire self. I wanted to undo everything happened on that day. Maybe the two hiring personnel will not forget about me and they might laugh when I went out.

Then I was right. The hiring personnel didn’t forget about me. Two days after, I received a call from them and they invited me for the second interview!

Gottcha!

For my second interview, I had an honest conversation with the hiring manager. I gained more confident on having a conversation with her.

Until the next two days after my second interview, I was invited for the final interview with the company owner. At this time, I felt so nervous but I keep reminding myself just be honest and I asked God for guidance.

Then the company owner asked me a shot-gun question;

“Why is it your accounting grades are poor?”

Therefore, I responded her with my bullet proof vest answer with a smile.

“Yes ma’am, they are. Actually ma’am I am living with my four brothers and one female cousin, and, at home we are two girls inside the house but I am responsible for household chores, even if they helped me but still I am responsible for it. When I went home from school, instead of studying I went to kitchen to cook dinner for us. So after doing household responsibilities, I felt tired and don’t have time to study.”

Oh my gosh! I know it was not a valid excused but maybe it was a valid truth.

“So, you mean that these grades were just lacked of study? Weren’t they?” the company owner follow up question.

“Yes ma’am.” I quickly responded with a little smile on my face and my eyes were looking at her eyes too. Looked like, I was waiting on how she’s going to react.

With that reaction on my face, the company owner responded me with a smile too.

“Ok Jean. Welcome to the company. Is it ok for you to be assigning in Regulatory Department?”

“Anywhere ma’am, yes, I am.” I responded.

Job interview is like jumping in a hole of a needle. It is a clash of emotions and wisdom.

But in order to win from your job interview, there are only two words in order to win it;

Simply, BE HONEST.

Hear His Words:

1 Corinthians 1:25-26 NIV

“25 For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength.
26 Brothers, think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth.”
Author:

I am a simple girl who lives on a peaceful island in the Philippines. I am the passionate author of “The Tunnel of Thoughts” and my newly created blog "Miscellaneousjean". I simply love writing, just like you.

Leave a Reply

